Institute of Art History

History

Art history as an academic discipline at UZH goes back to the time of the foundation of the University, on 1 May 1833. A detailed history of the era until 1939 was published by Adolf Reinle ("Kunstwissenschaft an Schweizer Hochschulen." 1. The chairs at the universities in Basel, Bern, Freiburg, and Zurich from their establishment until 1940 in: Jahrbuch des Schweizerischen Institutes für Kunstwissenschaft, 1972/73, Zurich 1976, pp. 71–88).

In 1870, the professorial chair for art history was established with two associate professorships, for Friedrich Salomon Vögelin and Johann Rudolf Rahn, respectively. While Vögelin focused his work on cultural history, Rahn devoted most of his time to architecture and the inventories of protected buildings in Switzerland. Rahn, who held the professorship for over 40 years (from 1870 to 1912), became founder of the “Zurich School,” which aimed for a study of the arts based on objective observation of the original.

Rahn’s successor was his student Joseph Zemp (1913–28), who continued Rahn’s work. Konrad Escher, professor from 1928 to 1942 – as well as a student under Rahn – joined the objective school of art history. Another colleague was Heinrich Wölfflin, who returned from Germany to teach as a full professor ad personam from 1924 to 1934. Gotthard Jedlicka, appointed associate professor in 1939, became a full professor of art history in 1945. Following Jedlicka’s death in 1965, a new phase of art history scholarship was established with the work of Emil Maurer (1967–1982) and Adolf Reinle (from 1965).

The Building at Rämistrasse 73

In 1893/1894 the University moved into Rämistrasse 73, a building designed by Otto Weber, a student of Gottfried Semper, and located on the site of the former city bulwarks. The premises served as an eye clinic until 1953. After the clinic was incorporated into the present-day University Hospital (across the street), and following minor changes to the interior, the Department of Archaeology and its collection, and the Institute of Art History took up residence in the building.

Kunsthistorisches Institut

Zur Geschichte

Die Geschichte des Fachs führt bis in die Zeit der Gründung der Universität Zürich am 1. Mai 1833 zurück. Eine detaillierte Untersuchung für die Periode bis 1939 publizierte Adolf Reinle (Kunstwissenschaft an Schweizer Hochschulen. 1. Die Lehrstühle der Universitäten in Basel, Bern, Freiburg und Zürich von den Anfängen bis 1940, in: Jahrbuch des Schweizerischen Institutes für Kunstwissenschaft, 1972/73, Zürich 1976, S. 71–88).

Im Jahr 1870 wurde der Lehrstuhl für Kunstgeschichte eingerichtet (zwei Extraordinariate für Friedrich Salomon Vögelin und Johann Rudolf Rahn). Während sich Vögelin hauptsächlich der Kulturgeschichte zuwandte, beschäftigte sich Rahn vor allem mit Architektur und mit Denkmal-Inventarisation in der Schweiz. Rahn, der die Professur über 40 Jahre, von 1870 bis 1912 innehatte, wurde zum Begründer der 'Zürcher Schule', die die werktreue, auf Sachlichkeit ausgerichtete Kunstwissenschaft zum Ziel hatte.

Die Nachfolge Rahns trat sein Schüler Joseph Zemp (1913–28) an. Er setzte Rahns Linie fort. Auch Konrad Escher, Professor von 1928 bis 1942, gehörte als Schüler Rahns noch der objektnahen Kunstwissenschaft an. Neben ihm lehrte Heinrich Wölfflin, aus Deutschland zurückberufen, als Ordinarius ad personam von 1924 bis 1934. Gotthard Jedlicka, Extraordinarius 1939, erhielt das Ordinariat für Kunstgeschichte im Jahr 1945. Mit Emil Maurer (1967-1982) und Adolf Reinle (seit 1965) setzte dann, nach Jedlickas Tod im Jahr 1965, eine neue Phase der Kunstgeschichtsschreibung ein.

Zum Haus an der Rämistrasse 73

1893/1894 wurde das Universitätsgebäude an der Rämistrasse 73 von Otto Weber, einem Schüler Gottfried Sempers, errichtet. Auf diesem Areal der ehemaligen Schanzen diente der Bau bis 1953 als Augenklinik. Nachdem die Klinik in das heutige Universitätsspital integriert wurde, brachte man nach geringfügigen Änderungen der Innenräume das Archäologische Institut und seine Sammlung sowie das Kunstgeschichtliche Seminar im Gebäude unter.